If you are a homeowner or renter in Colorado that has been impacted by the coronavirus pandemic, our office may be able to help.
Below is a list of helpful resources that are available to homeowners and renters in our area:
- Colorado Legal Services: CLS provides free legal services in all types of evictions to individuals and families who meet income guidelines. CLS also provides these same services to seniors, without regard to income. If you are a tenant and have been served with a notice, have received court papers, or have a problem with your housing, please contact CLS immediately.
- Colorado Legal Services can be reached at 303-837-1313/1321 ext 444 or online at coloradolegalservices.org.
- Colorado Affordable Legal Services: CALS counsels, represents and advises landlord and tenant clients on legal issues and other landlord/tenant matters. CALS advises parties how to file, initiate and defend themselves in court proceedings, including mediation in addition to offering dispute resolution information and referrals for legal assistance.
- Colorado Affordable Legal Services can be reached by phone at 303-996-0010 or online at http://coloradoaffordablelegal.com/
- The Denver Metro Fair Housing Center: DMFHC is a non-profit organization dedicated to eliminating housing discrimination through comprehensive education, advocacy, and enforcement of the Fair Housing Act.
- DMFHC can be reached by phone at 720-279-4291 or online at dmfhc.org.
- Colorado Housing Connects: This organization provides information on tenant/landlord questions and concerns.
- Colorado Housing Connects can be reached by phone at 1-844-926-6632 or online at coloradohousingconnects.org
- The Colorado Foreclosure Hotline: This statewide hotline partners with nonprofit housing counseling agencies.
- Visit the them online or call toll-free (877) 601-HOPE (4673).
In March 2020, Congress secured several key protections outlined below for homeowners and renters:
- Mortgage Forbearance: Homeowners with FHA, USDA, VA, or Section 184 or 184A mortgages (for members of federally-recognized tribes) and those with mortgages backed by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac have the right to request forbearance on their payments for up to 6 months, with a possible extension for another 6 months without fees, penalties, or extra interest.
- Homeowners should contact their mortgage servicing company directly.
- Eviction Protections: Renters residing in public or assisted housing, or in a home or apartment whose owner has a federally-backed mortgage, and who are unable to pay their rent, are protected from eviction for 4 months. Property owners are also prohibited from issuing a 30-day notice to a tenant to vacate a property until after the 4-month moratorium ends. This protection covers properties that receive federal subsidies such as public housing, Section 8 assistance, USDA rural housing programs, and federally-issued or guaranteed mortgages.
- Renters whose landlord is not abiding by the moratorium should contact the relevant federal agency that administers their housing program or their local Legal Aid office.
- Energy Assistance for Low Income Families: Congress secured an additional $900 million to help low income Americans and their families heat and cool their homes. To learn more about the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) in Colorado, please click here.